using toys to make learning fun

Chapter 103 – Al Asr (Time)






24 responses

  1. The first photograph is brilliant, Mezba!

    “Man is in loss with respect to time.” How true indeed.

    November 11, 2010 at 9:59 am

    • Thank you Nadia! That was the third picture I had for the same verse – I read a couple of tafsirs to see what it meant!

      I still don’t like the very last picture, but will change it later. Thanks for visiting and commenting!

      November 12, 2010 at 9:34 am

  2. Excellent work Mezba! I’ll ask my children to send you their comments; would you like that?

    November 12, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    • Sure, please do. I would love to read what they think, and any suggestions they have for any surahs. And please also tell anyone you think might find it of use as well 🙂

      November 12, 2010 at 2:20 pm

  3. I couldn’t love what you have done more! I am a teacher (now I have my own preschool but I taught at an Islamic school in the past) and this is so much better than the dry this is haram, that is haram, that is REALLY haram junk that I have seen in the Islamic schools. Bravo, and I hope to see more. My dream is to see all people teaching children in Islam approach it in a way they can understand, and you are doing just that. May Allah reward your efforts 🙂

    November 12, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    • Thank you for your comments and welcome to the blog. My intention is to have these pictures instill queries and curiosity amongst students and kid who then involve the adults and together they can read and find out more. I also think Islam can be taught in a much better fashion than it is taught now, which is haram this haram that – as you said. Please keep visiting, and kindly tell others of this blog too 🙂

      November 12, 2010 at 9:02 pm

  4. Farah

    Love how this Surah connects with the previous one (Inshirah). And the first picture is very well done – curious, what over “versions” did you make of that?

    Last picture is great – looks great to me! 🙂

    November 12, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    • Farah, thanks and welcome to the blog.

      When I first read the first ayah and its translation I thought it meant time as it progress through the ages – so I had a caveman, a more developed farmer, a modern man and then a future man in that picture! But then I read a couple of tafsirs and it was clear that the verse was indicating the “capital” of time given to each man – each individual. So then I decided to portray it as one man progressing through time.

      As an aside I also find yet another interpretation fascinating, if we are not the losers with respect to time if we do good deeds etc. (as mentioned in the third verse) does it mean we actually GAIN time (i.e. time travel in reverse) LOL. You can see I have a lot of TIME on my hands mA. I guess it means we are not the losers as in we have spent time wisely. But spend time we must.

      Do subscribe and keep visiting!

      November 13, 2010 at 12:02 am

      • Dina

        What a beautiful project you are working on I’m so glad I found this… even as an arabic speaking adult I find this very moving and it is interesting to see the tafseer portrayed in your pictures.
        I also wanted to share my 2 cents with regards to your final possible interpretation if I may… I think we do perceive that we “gain time” when we are doing good deeds… take this project you are doing for example… 99% of people wouldn’t do something like this this because they perceive that they “don’t have enough time” but mash2-Allah when we have good intentions and really do things for the sake of Allah those 24hrs seem to be so much more efficiently used… 2 cents over!

        January 9, 2011 at 7:36 am

      • Thank you Dina. I do think time is a perception and there is something called ‘barakah’ – people engaged in good acts always find the time and people rushing after this world (only) always find time to be short.

        January 9, 2011 at 1:59 pm

  5. This is great!

    November 13, 2010 at 9:20 am

    • Thank you Sumera!

      November 13, 2010 at 10:55 am

  6. This is great. Good work with the narration and the lighting.

    November 15, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    • Thank you Wang Daiyu and welcome to my blog!

      I use a couple of IKEA Lagra lamps for lighting, and later tone it up if needed by photo software.

      November 15, 2010 at 2:55 pm

  7. Salams brother,
    I read your comments on MM from time to time but havent ventured on your blog yet. Someone sent me a link to this and this is so creative!!! my boys are loving it. I am going to use it for our masjid school kids, too will update you on their reactions. JazakAllah khair.

    December 15, 2010 at 2:17 am

    • Salaams Hena. Thank you for your comments and welcome to the blog. Please do let me know the reactions of the students to this, and if the site was helpful. Do also send me any suggestions etc. they may have. Regards.

      December 15, 2010 at 9:23 am

  8. Slave of Allah

    Ha SubhanAllah I love this!! Brilliant

    September 13, 2011 at 12:15 am

  9. Jesima

    Masha Allah. I really like your website, been looking how do I teach the meaning of Al-Quran to my son whilst teaching him the Quran itself!! Well done.

    March 16, 2012 at 6:04 am

    • Thank you Jesima. Please keep me and my family in your duas.

      March 16, 2012 at 9:08 am

  10. mehtab

    MashaAllah great innovative work sister, may allah bless you and make easy all ur endeavours

    May 22, 2012 at 1:31 am

    • Salams and thank you for your comment. One correction – I am a brother!

      May 25, 2012 at 3:16 pm

  11. Pingback: A Status Update « Teaching Kids the Holy Quran

  12. Pingback: Surah Asr – Adeeba Jafri

Leave a comment