using toys to make learning fun

A Status Update

For those of you wondering about new posts to this blog, and for all my loyal readers and fans of this blog, I owe a status update after a month of inactivity.

This blog is on a hiatus, but not because I have run out of enthusiasm (God forbid!) for the project, nor because I have run out of Lego. The good thing about being an adult (and fan of Lego), as opposed to a kid who loves Lego, is having a job, you can fund your own Lego hobby rather than depending on a meager pocket money! 🙂

What happened was, two months ago Allah gave my wife and I a great gift. He blessed us with a son. And then, just like Surah Asr said, time has been the winner. It has just flowed fast, and I have lost track of it. It’s amazing just how much work, and time, a baby takes from you (not that I am complaining, alhamdulillah).

Of course, besides that, we moved out of my parents’ place to our own (right close to them, Everybody Loves Raymond style).

And then I started a new job.

So, in short, I have been really, really, really busy.

However, here is what I have planned for the blog in the near future, inshAllah.


  • Lots and lots of new depictions
  • completion of the big surahs now partially depicted, such as Surah Rahman and Surah Rum.
  • an invitation to participate in Muslimfest 2012.
    Obviously, I am highly excited by this opportunity, and I welcome all support in whatever capacity from you all in this regard. It would be a dream to bring the work of this blog to Muslimfest.

So, to summarize, it has been a busy, busy, busy time for me. However, the hiatus will not be for long, inshAllah. Please keep my family and I in your prayers.

9 responses

  1. Humaira

    Congratulations 🙂 Looking forward to the new posts soon InshaAlllah

    June 10, 2012 at 7:27 am

    • Thank you. Please follow the twitter account for this blog (if you haven’t done so already) or “be a fan” of the facebook page – I will post announcements of updates there iA.

      June 10, 2012 at 3:59 pm

  2. Mabrook again on the little one (we should schedule a playdate no??) and so glad you’ve been blessed with a new home and job! Fantastic.

    I live close to the Muslimfest location — let me know if you need a breakout space for naps, lunch or anything for your family. How will you be presenting the blog? I can help out any way you need!

    June 10, 2012 at 8:10 am

    • Thank you woodturtle, it means so much. iA if I need some help, I will definitely give you a shout. I haven’t forgotten the help you gave me on the “Nisaa” post!

      June 10, 2012 at 4:00 pm

  3. shahnaz

    Mabrook on the new addition to your family.May ALLAH grant your child great deen,health&hapiness Ameen,looking forward to your teaching Quran to kids endeaver JazakALLAH

    June 10, 2012 at 9:17 am

    • Thank you for your duas.

      June 10, 2012 at 3:59 pm

  4. mashaAllah la hawla wa la quwata!! Mabrook Mezba!! 🙂
    May Allah (swt) make the baby the coolness of your eyes, make him a righteous slave and an asset to this Ummah!

    (P.S: As a desi parent, u know exactly what NOT to do, don’t you?! :P)

    June 14, 2012 at 1:10 pm

  5. Aneela

    Congrats and May u and your family gets the highest rewards for the great efforts u put on for the cause.

    June 21, 2012 at 11:22 pm

    • Thank you Aneela.

      June 22, 2012 at 1:20 pm

Leave a Reply

