using toys to make learning fun

Chapter 91 – Shams (The Sun)














15 responses

  1. “By the soul and Him who perfected it” – never thought about this before but this is the first picture that opened and I wondered for the first time why Allah would swear upon Himself and that too in the third person. Forget about Allah swearing upon all His own creations but why does He swear upon the soul? Any idea?

    December 26, 2010 at 8:44 am

    • Allah also swears by Himself on verse 5,6. I must confess I don”t know why He is doing that, but I didn’t pay much significance to that.

      January 1, 2011 at 2:17 am

  2. mnies

    quran doesn’t just tell stories.. it’s in arabic because it’s a complicated language..you can intrepet it in many different perspective..
    as i read it first, my first thought was like..

    imagine..it was thousand years ago..and here it tells about the occurance of the sun, the moon, day and night. if the ppl in the past have studied it, they cud easily intepret the scientific facts in these verses.

    and here ‘“By the soul and Him who perfected it” : he just made it clear and clarified it again and again that He is the one who creates souls and by His Will, he can do anythin to it..perfected it..

    July 3, 2011 at 5:23 am

    • Thank you mnies . I too am amazed at how many different perspectives and meanings a single verse can reveal.

      July 3, 2011 at 10:32 pm

  3. The verse 8 just portrayed the entire concept so so well mashaAllah!!! the pic was perfect brother! cool!!! I cant wait for u to publish this into a book…do find a publisher in India too when you decide to publish.. I would be the first to buy inshaAllah!!

    November 22, 2011 at 11:12 am

    • Thank you Nasmira. Pray that a book gets published sometime. Right now I am a little busy with family issues so cannot hunt publishers effectively.

      November 22, 2011 at 2:21 pm

      • yeah inshaAllah..I pray Allah swt makes things easy for u soon! Ameen

        November 23, 2011 at 12:22 am

      • Thank you.

        November 23, 2011 at 11:57 am

  4. S

    assalaam alalikum,

    two things: 1/ isnt “shams” feminine (muannath)?
    2/ i cant thank u enough for this website…its not only given my children immense enthusiasm for learning the Quran, alhamdulillah, but also inspired them to create their own lego mosques, jinn territories, and so on….many thanks for ur hard work and dedication, pls keep up the good work indefinitely!

    June 10, 2012 at 4:10 pm

    • 1) Both Yusuf Ali and Pickthall uses the masculine translation, so I have also used the “his” rather than “its”.

      2) You are welcome. It is always nice to see the hard work in this blog appreciated. Please give my love to your kids, and please keep me and my family in your prayers.

      June 12, 2012 at 8:49 am

  5. Saood Hashim

    Jazak Allah Mezba.

    My Daughter (Maryam) and I each day visit this site and review your Posts. She also read the comments and asks me to post some comment. For the moment my comment is that I love your work and so does Maryam. We cant thank you much for this effort.

    May Allah Bless You

    Jazak Allah

    Saood and Maryam

    November 20, 2012 at 10:34 am

    • Thank you Saood for your comment and please give my salaams to Maryam as well.

      Please keep me and my family in your prayers.

      November 20, 2012 at 10:37 am

  6. Pingback: Habitat: Desert – BaytZuhr

  7. Aminu Inuwa

    Salamun.alaikum ,good job , I want.to teach translation of. suwar.from 91-114 I.need suitable instructional materials for this.please

    May 18, 2016 at 3:32 am

  8. Pingback: Habitat: Desert – BaytZuhr

Leave a comment