using toys to make learning fun

When Will Work On This Blog Resume?

The last ‘real’ post on this blog depicting verses from the Holy Quran was on August 31, 2012, i.e. more than a year ago. I often get comments and feedback asking to resume posting, or querying about when I plan to restart my work, or why I have stopped. I thought I would make a statement to clarify.

I have not stopped my work, nor have I grown tired of it. Insha Allah (God Willing), my goal is to have the whole of the Holy Quran depicted and illustrated, along with the tafseer (exegesis) and explanation, freely available on this blog for all. However, for that to happen, I need a lot of time, money and resources. Let me share you the work that used to go towards just making one verse.

Step 1. I would have to read and translate the verse, AND read up to three tafseers about the verse to understand exactly the context and explanation of the verse, along with the translation.

Step 2. Plan the scene out. Often I am not just depicting one verse, but a whole section of verses, so the planning is broader.

Step 3. Build and construct the sets.

Step 4. Photograph the setup. Often I will take up to 20 photographs per verse and select the best picture out of them.
making01

Step 5. Post process the photograph for lighting, flare, contrast, brightness etc.
making02

Step 5. Add the verses and watermark, and make the picture ready for the web.
making03

As you can see, these require a lot of my time and resources. Often I have to take a whole day out just for a couple of posts. At some point, I also wanted to produce images of a higher quality. If you see works of other religions and their depictions, they have a very high standard. I wanted Islamic educational materials to be of equally high standards, if not better. For all of that to happen, I need time, resources, and money. Specifically, I needed cash for

  • a new Macro camera lens
  • a lightbox for better lighting, so I spend less time on post-processing
  • more Lego

So, sometime last year, I had to make a decision. I did not want to have a “Donate” button on my blog and have to ask fans and readers to donate ‘fe sabilillah’. I wanted to give them a high quality product, so that they would feel happy with their purchase, and I could use the proceeds towards this ongoing dawah work. And thus I decided to concentrate my time and effort on producing a book, and I chose Surah Kahf as the Surah I will depict. I hope I can manage to sell a sufficient number of copies of my book, so I can raise enough funds to continue this work, and make other books in the future, insha Allah. At this point, the book is finished and I have ordered proofs from the publisher. As soon as I receive the proof copies, if I am happy with how everything looks in the print version, I will approve the book for sale. The publisher then does their own checks, and if insha Allah all is good, then the book will be available for purchase from the publisher as well as from me. Insha Allah the target date for the book launch is October 10, 2013.

After the sales of the book have reached a sufficient level, I will continue the work on this blog, insha Allah, completing Surah Qasas before moving on to other surahs.

I hope this clarifies the issue.

Regards,

Mezba

12 responses

  1. Rayyan L

    Thank you for your work! I love reading these Surahs with the meaning in Legos!!

    September 17, 2013 at 4:26 pm

  2. Fab

    Thank you for taking the time out to clarify things!! Yes, it is a tremendous effort, but your results are amazing, to say the least :-). I’d like to know if the book will be available in India, maybe on flipkart or amazon india. I’d also love it if you could write a book not exactly on Quran verses, but just a general Islamic introduction book for young kids, around the age of 4-5. This age group is really into Legos, so explaining basic Islamic concepts with Lego blocks would be perfect. Thank you again for this beautiful blog and may God bless you and your family!

    September 17, 2013 at 10:41 pm

  3. Jazak Allah Khairan on the wonderful work you are doing. I agree with the comment above that we really need a book for the young ones on Introduction to the Qur’an. We have lots of books available on Stories from the Qur’an, but I am yet to find a book that introduces the concepts discussed in the Qur’an in a simple way to kids under 10. Do let us know how we can purchase the book in India, Insha Allah..

    September 19, 2013 at 12:39 am

    • Salaams Aysha. You can get in touch with me on the facebook group about the concepts you want to introduce the kids to.

      December 13, 2013 at 3:51 pm

  4. You are so amazing. You do so much hard work for others. May God bless you in all your endeavours!

    September 22, 2013 at 12:49 pm

    • Thank you and may Allah accept your prayers!

      December 13, 2013 at 3:52 pm

  5. Am looking forward to the book insha-Allah :) Hope it’ll be available internationally, and not just in North America…

    September 25, 2013 at 12:41 am

  6. Naveed Aslam

    I want you achieve your goal of to have the whole of the Holy Quran illustrated, along with explanation as soon as possible. It is also my heartily wish and I pray for it.
    Put a denote button on this blog is not a bad idea, you should have done this very earlier.
    As definitely this work require money, time and resources. Wish you find denotors who could help you to achieve this.
    2ndly you can produce this depicted Quranic posts in less time if you work in a team. As for every project there is a team e.x. in producing animations, films, software products etc.
    You can select a virtual team of volunteers who can share their ideas with you, how to depict different Quranic verse. As i remember a couple of times i share my ideas through mail to depict specific Quranic verse.
    Selling these project products in the form of book and managing funds through it, is also a excellent job.
    I hope your book will available internationally. For this, you can contact to differnt books printing distributors. They can make copies of your book in their printing press and sale it to their country cites. As well willing to give you a reasonable share profit.
    If you want this idea to implement on my country Pakistan. I will surely help you and collect more information regarding to this.

    October 15, 2013 at 8:02 am

    • Salaams Naveed. Please get in touch with me via FB group page or email if you wish to pursue this.

      December 13, 2013 at 3:53 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 293 other followers